Chakra Acupuncture


Chakra acupuncture has been developed by the author as a method of Energy Medicine that extends and supplements Chinese acupuncture, joining both approaches into one practice as well as integrating the Indian concept of the chakra system.

The basic concept of Chinese acupuncture is to dissolve blockages and stagnation in the channels and organs by harmonizing the flow of qi. Conditions that are either deficient or excessive are balanced by achieving a harmonious interplay of yin and yang. Chakra acupuncture uses traditional acupuncture points and complements them by adding the so called 'chakra points'. These are points that lie near the chakras. Stimulating these points and spaces through acupuncture is called 'opening of the chakras', because it activates them and increases the flow of vital energy within them.

It is not recommended to start treatment by working on the actual illness. Rather, we begin by opening the chakras, increasing the flow of life force, and letting a high charge build up within them. This helps the patient to become aware of the chakras and the energy inside his body. In the beginning, it is important to start the chakra acupuncture treatment with the crown, Heart and base chakras and to establish a strong and constant flow of energy within them.

Receptive insight

of the Third Eye means the ability to look into the nature of things (e.g. diseases) and understand how they are interrelated. Every kind of visual recognition, of seeing – including the ability to perceive energies – is a function of the Third Eye and belongs here. It means looking beyond the surface of things and realizing the meaning of a piece of art, for example, or the meaning of dreams. The ability to perceive energies can be directed toward energy fields that are stable, radiant and healthy as well as to blocked and stagnant energy fields.

When the ability of receptive insight is strongly developed, it raises awareness, heightens intuition, and enhances visionary abilities. Thinking is then characterized as clear understanding and concise discernment.

First, the needles are inserted into the traditional acupuncture points as well as the chakra acupuncture points. The points used most frequently to open the chakras are baihui (Du-20), in the centre of the crown chakra, and sishencong (M-HN-1) surrounding baihui. Further relevant chakra points are yintang (M-HN-3) and yamen (Du-15) for the sixth chakra, shanzhong (Ren-17) and shendao (Du-11) for the Heart chakra, and taixi (KI-3) and sanyinjiao (SP-6) for the base chakra.

Secondly, the patient is asked to place his awareness on the chakras one by one, starting with the crown chakra. After a while the patient may feel a slight tingling or a gentle flow of energy. These indicate the opening of the chakra. The sensations should be observed during the entire session. Should the patient not feel the opening, he should start breathing deeply into the chakra. Breathing deeply furthers the opening of the chakra and intensifies the flow of life force through it.

Thirdly, the therapist directs his awareness to his own chakras simultaneously. He repeatedly reminds the patient to be aware of the crown chakra, to
Open this area’, and to
Observe the flow of energy from the top of the head downwards’.

When the patient feels a distinct flow of energy through the crown chakra he should move to the Heart chakra and proceed in the same way as described above. He focuses awareness on the heart chakra and breathes deeply until the opening of the chakra is felt, mostly as a widening, a charge, a flow of warm energy in the area.

The combination of acupuncture and awareness is important and makes the treatment more efficient.

The Chakras how they are related to acupuncture points and Chinese Organs

First or base chakra, muladhara (sanskrit)

Location: perineum

Opening: one opening, downwards

Function: connection to the Earth

Chinese organ: Kidney yin

Acupuncture points:

  • huiyin (Ren-1)

The position of the base chakra corresponds to the point huiyin Ren-1, ‘meeting of yin’, where the yin qualities of the body gather.

Second or polarity chakra, svadhisthana

Location: pelvis

Opening: two openings, one to the front, one to the back

Function: sexuality

Chinese organ: Kidney yang, Urinary bladder, Large intestine

Acupuncture points:

  • front: qugu (Ren-2) to guanyuan (Ren-4)
  • back: yaoshu (Du-2) to mingmen (Du-4)

The polarity chakra balances yin and yang inside and outside the body; a balanced polarity chakra is the basis for harmonious sexuality, i.e. yin and yang in balance and exchange with another person. The first and second chakras form a unit and correspond to the Kidney and the lower jiao of the sanjiao.

Third or solar plexus chakra, manipura

Location: abdomen

Opening: two openings, one to the front, one to the back

Function: personal will and emotional expression

Chinese organ: Spleen, Liver, middle jiao of the sanjiao

Acupuncture points:

  • front: shenjue (Ren--8), zhongwan (Ren-12)
  • back: xuanshu (Du-5), jizhong (Du–6)

The manipura chakra regulates personal will in the upper part of the body and emotional expression in the lower part. When imbalanced it is responsible for striving for power, anger, rage, and addiction.

Fourth or Heart chakra, anahata

Location: centre of the chest

Opening: two openings, one to the front, one to the back

Function: harmonizing, balancing, integrating, healing

Chinese organ: Heart, upper jiao

Acupuncture points:

  • front: shanzhong (Ren-17)
  • back: shendao (Du-11)

The Heart chakra is the most important healing chakra, much more so than all the other chakras. Its main qualities are compassion, love, tolerance, and joy. Being located between the three upper and the three lower chakras, the heart chakra forms the centre from which the energies of all other organs are influenced. This makes it the essential chakra for integration.

Fifth or throat chakra, vishuddha

Location: throat

Opening: two openings, one to the front, one to the back

Function: strength and expressiveness of speech

Chinese organ: Lung

Acupuncture points:

  • front: tiantu (Ren-22)
  • back: dazhui (Du-14)

Strength and expressiveness of speech and creativity are related to the throat chakra.

Sixth or ‘Third Eye’ chakra, ajna

Location: forehead, between the eyebrows

Opening: two openings, one to the front, one to the back

Function: intuition, clairvoyance, ability to discriminate, understanding, focus of the mind

Acupuncture points:

  • front: yintang (M-HN-3)
  • back: yamen (Du-15)

Seventh or crown chakra, sahasrara

Location: at the vertex of the cranium

Opening: one opening, upwards

Function: understanding the higher aspects of being, connection to the soul

Acupuncture points:

  • baihui (Du-20),
  • sishengong (M-HN-1)


Health & Healing

Dr. med. Gabriel Stux

Villa Quisisana
Wilhelm-Külz-Straße 3
99423 Weimar

Phone: +49 (0)152.51407000